Don’t Let The Perfect Be The Enemy Of The Good

I really would love to post every day. The problem is that I always want to have something funny or clever or astute to say. So I delay until the pressure is so great that I’m forced to come up with something.

It’s sort of a microcosm of my life. I seem to be waiting around until something comes to me to do. Something meaningful, satisfying, creative. I have launched in so many directions and then had to dig out, that I refuse to budge unless it seems to be the right and perfect thing. So I’m left in limbo. Not good. Perhaps this act of sitting down to write without really having anything to say will spark a new direction.

Maybe I need an extreme makeunder. Lower the bar. Cultivate the unexceptional. Champion the OK. Air Supply not Aerosmith. Cheap Trick not Chick Corea. Gerald Ford not Jimmy Carter. PB&J. Applebee’s. Jug wine. Keanu Reeves…Whoa Nelly! That’s too far. How about Leo DiCaprio? That’s more like it.

Well, I’ll give it a shot. It’s only life after all.

Published in: on February 13, 2007 at 2:49 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://travelingmedicineshow.wordpress.com/2007/02/13/dont-let-the-perfect-be-the-enemy-of-the-good/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is a fun theme. Allow me:

    Salieri, not Mozart. Margarine, not Butter. Casio, not Steinway. Hyundai, not Honda. CNN, not CSPAN. Comics, not books. Bush, not . . . Harding?

  2. Vietnam not WWII. Mother Theresa not MLK. Kraft not Hellmanns. LAPD not FDNY. Spokane not Seattle. Sex in the City not Six Feet Under. A wealth of possibilities for mediocrity.

  3. Oh, and I think Bush left mediocrity behind a long time ago. He is in the realm of pure evil…wait a minute. I think you might be on to something. As bad as he is, he is not even estimable enough to be purely evil. He is evil mediocritized! What a distinction.

  4. Brilliant — how deeply depressing and cackle-worthy.

  5. “Extreme makeunder”
    Brilliant!


Leave a Reply

